Vintage Women

Bringing back yesterday's home skills

Easy Dog Coat Tutorial

Leave a comment

Please go easy on me as this is my first shot at making a tutorial!
 This coat as rather easy to put together, no pattern, just theit old coats.This coat is for a 45 pound Bassett Hound mix but is very easy to resize for bigger or smaller dogs. Will need to measure the dogs length as well as the width around their chest and stomach area.

First start out by picking your fabric. My inside does not match my outside but you can have yours match. I used a lime green fleece for the inside and a pink nursary flannel for the outside. I also added a color of my softest fabric because my dog like to sleep in them and I figured that it would be a bit nicer. 

I forgot to take pictures of my actual measuring and cutting of the first piece so the detention of the body is 14″ wide x 21″long with a neck cut out of 16.5 inches from the bottom of the body to the middle of the cutout.

image

Pin it upside down on your inside fabric. You see I wasn’t having a very good day and pinned before I flipped so I had to start over.

image

Cut around the outside fabric.

image

This is when I measured and cut the collar to size.

image

Fold the collar in have lengthwise and put it between the top and bottom fabric with the fold toward the bottom of the coat.

image

image

Cut your fabric for the straps. This is why you need to measure around your dog. I have made them both too long and too short on both of my coast.
They should be an inch or so wide and how ever long you need them. Make 2.

image

Sew them together. I like the look of just sewing together fleece without turning it inside out.

image

Place in between the fabrics on the side, either side, about the place right between your dogs stomach and chest. I later added a second strap right around the stomach.

image

Pin. Mark your sewing start line and your ending line, leaving about a 2 or 3 inch gap for turning out.

image

Begin sewing. I did a med size basting line.

image

When you are done, turn it right side out and pin edges or iron.

image

Sew around the outside. I also sewed around the edges of the collar to hold it down otherwise my dogs tend to look like dracula.
If you do this, do not sew the outside edge of the collar that will be on the dogs neck.

image

image

Pick your buttons. One goes on the strap and the other on of the straps that goes around the neck. Make your button holes, one on the other neck strap and the other on the coat, where ever it needs to be to fit properly.

image

Finished and on the dog!
If you have problems or don’t understand something, please contact me. Again, this is my first tutorial, sorry if it is not perfect!

Thanks for checking it out, I would love to see pics of your finished coats and any additions you may have made!

Leave a comment